G20 Countries List 2023 | UPSC Insights

In this article, we will take you through the buzzing topic of the G20 summit, and the G20 Countries list 2023.

We will try our best to cover G20 for UPSC aspirants.

G20 Countries List for 2023 Summit

G20 2023 CountriesName of the HeadPrime Minister of the United Kingdom
ArgentinaAlberto FernandezPresident of Argentina
AustraliaAnthony AlbanesePrime Minister of Australia
BrazilLuiz InacioPresident of Brazil
CanadaJustin TrudeauPrime Minister Of Canada
ChinaLi ChiangPrime Minister of China
FranceEmmanuel MacronPresident of France
GermanyOlaf ScholzChancellor of Germany
IndiaNarendra ModiPrime Minister Of India – Host
IndonesiaJoko WidodoPresident of the Republic of Indonesia
ItalyGiorgia MeloniPrime Minister of Italy
JapanFumio KishidaPrime Minister of Japan
MexicoAndres ManuelPresident of Mexico
South KoreaYoon Suk YeolPresident of South Korea
RussiaSergey LavrovMinister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Saudi ArabiaMuhammed Bin SalmanCrown Prince of Saudi Arabia
South AfricaCyril RamaphosaPresident of South Africa
TurkeyRC ErdoganPresident of Turkey
United KingdomRishi SunakPresident Of the United States Of America
United StatesJoe BidenPresident Of United States Of America
European UnionCharles MichaelPresident of the European Council

We will converse about what is the G20 summit, its history, headquarters, objectives, member countries, its importance, and details on the summit of 2023. 

Alongside this, get to know the list of all the G20 summits held to date.

What is the G20 Summit?

For a better understanding of the topic, getting information on G20 is important.

The Group of 20 often referred to as the G20 is a group of nations that contribute to 85% of the world economy.

The G20 consists of 19 countries and the European Union.


Upon the meeting of the G7 country’s finance ministers and Central bank Governors, the G20 was formed consequently.

G20 was formed on 26th September 1999.

The objective of the summit is to discuss policy that pertains to the promotion of international financial stability.

G20 Summit refers to the annual meeting of the leaders of all the member nations to discuss themes and policies that pertain to its objective.

The first meeting was held in 2008 in the aftermath of the financial crisis of 2007-2008.

It is considered to be a substantial coordination forum of the world’s largest and leading economies.

G20 Countries Objectives

G20 works in the direction of developing policies and achieving goals that lead to financial stability internationally.

The leaders of the member nation meet every year at an annual summit and discuss policies and procedures pertaining to their objectives.

At the summit, economic and financial matters and coordinated policies are discussed that are of mutual interest to the member nations.

It has the leading and largest economies as members.

The G20 initially focused on the broad macroeconomic policy which further diversified with time.

Apart from the economic and financial coordination among the members, every summit converses over various themes such as future global labor, terrorism, innovation, health, and more.

G20 member countries list and their heads

Currently, there are 20 nations that are members of the G20 summit.

Every member has a representative who attends the summit every year.

The list of members (in alphabetical order) and their heads are as follows:-

Member CountryLeaderMember CountryLeader
ArgentinaPresidentJapanPrime Minister
AustraliaPrime MinisterMexicoPresident
CanadaPrime MinisterSaudi ArabiaKing
ChinaPresidentSouth AfricaPresident
FrancePresidentSouth KoreaPresident
IndiaPrime MinisterUnited KingdomPrime Minister
IndonesiaPresidentUnited StatesPresident
ItalyPrime MinisterEuropean UnionPresident of European Council/ Commission
List of member countries of the G20 Summit and their heads.

Brief History of G20

G20 was formulated in the year 1999 on 26th September.

The group was founded following the consequences of the Asian Financial Crisis in 1997.

It was developed as a forum for the finance ministers and the Central Bank Governors of the member countries.

As the G20 was established as a forum, it had no formal agreement or treaty to be presided over.

Amidst the global financial crisis of 2008, the President of The U.S. invited the leaders of the member nations to coordinate their proceedings to respond to the crisis.

Since 2010, the summit has been held annually with the host country changing every year.

G20 has various official engagement groups with which it works.

It comprises business, organized labor, academics, youth, and civil society.

Importance of G20

When combined, the member nations of the G20 contribute to around 80% of the Global economic output along with 75% of the global trade.

Being a forum, the agreements or decision made during its meetings contains no legal impact.

However, they have a substantial influence on the policies of the countries and global cooperation.

List of G20 Summits Held and Host Country

G20 countries list 2023

The first G20 summit was held in the year 2008.

Here is a list of all the G20 summits held with their details.

SummitYearCountry Host
1st2008 14-15 NovemberWashington D.C., United Kingdom
2nd2009 2nd AprilLondon, United Kingdom
3rd2009 24-25 SeptemberPittsburgh, United Kingdom
4th2010 26-27 JuneToronto, Canada
5th2010 11-12 NovemberSeoul, South Korea
6th2011 3-4 NovemberCannes, France
7th2012 18-18 JuneSan Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos, Mexico
8th2013 5-6 SeptemberSaint Petersburg, Russia
9th2014 15-16 NovemberBrisbane, Australia
10th2015 16-16 NovemberSerik, Antalya, Turkey
11th2016 4-5 SeptemberHangzhou, China
12th2017 7-8 JulyHamburg, Germany
13th2018 30 November- 1DecemberBuenos Aires, Argentina
14th2019 28-29 JuneOsaka, Japan
15th2020 26th MarchRiyadh, Saudi Arabia (Held virtually amidst the COVID-19 pandemic)
30–31 October 2021
Rome, Italy
17th15–16 November 2022
Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia
18th9–10 September 2023
New Delhi, India
19th 2024Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
List of G20 Summits held

Also read:- What is BRICS?

Interesting Facts and Figures about G20

The member nations of the G20 contribute to 85% of the world economy with an International trade of 75%

G20 is an informal club of nations. It does have an appointed secretariat to ensure the continuity of its works

G20 does not have any formal rules regarding its procedures and membership.

Moreover, it was not formed out of any treaty or formal agreement

Its member countries represent approximately two-thirds of the world’s population

Various states and organizations like the United Nations, International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organization, and more are involved in G20 works

Every year a country holds the presidency of the summit and the votes of all members have the same weightage.

Does G20 have headquarters?

G20 does not have a permanent secretariat or Headquarters. G20 is an informal club of nations.

It does have an appointed secretariat to ensure the continuity of its works

Other Popular Posts from Author:-

What is the Ozone Layer?

Preamble of India

Diversity in India

Rate this post

Leave a Comment