Duties of Vice President of India |Salary, List, Functions, and Removal

Duties of Vice President of India

In this article read about the duties of the Vice President of India, Salary, List, Functions, Impeachment, and Powers.

Alongside this also know about the present vice president of India, the First vice president of India, who gives oath to the vice president of India, Qualification, and term of office.

Vice President of India

The Vice President of India is the second most important constitutional office in India after the President.

His office is a contingency office to fill the vacant office of the President.


Article 63 says that there shall be a Vice President of India. If there is a vacancy in the President’s office then he will take care of the same.

Article 64 of the Constitution of India states that the Vice President shall be the ex-officio Chairman of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).

He shall not hold any other office of profit.

The President’s office may become vacant due to illness, death, resignation, impeachment, or any other situation.

He enjoys all the powers, emoluments, allowances, privileges, and immunities while discharging the functions of the President.

Article 97 of the Constitution states that while acting as President:-

Article 65 states that the Vice President shall act as President or discharge the functions of the President.

  • He shall not perform the duties of Chairman of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha)
  • and he shall not be entitled to any salary or allowance payable to the Chairman of the Council of States.

Official website:- http://vicepresidentofindia.nic.in/

Who was the First Vice President of India?

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the first Vice President of India from 1952 to 1962.

He had also served as the second President of India. He was born on 05 Sep 1888 and died on 17 Apr 1975.

Who is the current Vice President of India?

Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar is the current and 14th Vice President of India.

Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar was born on 18 May 1951. He took charge of the office on 11 Aug 2022.

President Smt Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to him. He is a famous leader of the Bhartiya Janta Party.

How is the Vice-President of India elected?

Article 66 deals with the election procedure of the Vice-President of India.

It states that he shall be elected by an electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

He shall not be a member of either House of the Parliament or of the Legislature of any State.

If in case a member of the House of Parliament is elected.

He shall vacate his seat in that House on the date on which he enters upon his office as Vice-President.

What are the four Qualifications to be elected as Vice President of India?

To be elected as Vice-President one must fulfill the following conditions:-

  • He must be a citizen of India.
  • has completed the age of 35 years
  • and is qualified for election as a member of the Council of States (Rajay Sabah).
  • he should not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or any State.

Who administers the oath of office to the Vice President of India?

President administers the oath of secrecy and office to the Vice-President of India.

What is the normal term of office of the Vice President of India?

The Vice-President of India holds the office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters his office.

However, his office can be vacant before that if, he resigns, is removed, or by death.

He may continue to hold office on the expiration of the term until his successor enters his office.

Removal of the Vice-President of India

A Vice-President can be removed from his office by a resolution of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).

The resolution must be passed by a majority of all the then members of the Council of States and agreed by the House of the People (Lok Sabha).

No resolution for impeachment shall be moved unless 14 days’ notice has been given.

Supreme Court can also remove Vice-President for committing electoral malpractices.

Salary of Vice President of India

The Vice-President draws a salary i.e. Rs. 1,25,000.00 per month as the ex officio chairman of Rajya Sabha.

There is no provision in the Constitution for salary as Vice-President. Additionally, he also receives travel, medical, residence, and other daily allowance.

He enjoys salary, privileges, power, and allowances when he acts as President. The Pension of the Vice-President is 50% of his salary.

Residence:- The residence of the Vice-President of India is located in New Delhi, Delhi, India.

Duties of Vice President of India

  • He is the ex officio Chairman of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).
  • He has the right to vote in case of an equality of votes.
  • The vice-President discharges the duties of the President in his absence due to any reason.
  • He visits different foreign countries for making goodwill.

Updated Lists of Vice Presidents of India from 1952 to 2021

1.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan13 May 1952 to 12 May 1962
2.Zakir Husain13 May 1962 to 12 May 1967
3.V.V. Giri13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969
4.Gopal Swarup Pathak31 Aug 1969 to 30 Aug 1974
5.B.D. Jatti31 Aug 1974 to 30 Aug 1979
6.Mohammad Hidayatullah31 Aug 1979 to 30 Aug 1984
7.R. Venkataraman31 Aug 1984 to 24 July 1987
8.Shankar Dayal Sharma3 September 1987 to 24 Jul 1992
9.K.R. Narayanan21 Aug 1992 to 24 July 1997
10.Krishan Kant21 Aug 1997 to 27 Jul 2002
11.Bhairon Singh Shekhawat19 Aug 2002 to 21 Jul 2007
12.Mohammad Hamid Ansari11 Aug 2007 to 11 Aug 2017
13.Venkaiah Naidu11 Aug 2017 to 11 Aug 2022

Also Read:-

President Rule in India

Chief Justice of India

Rate this post

Leave a Comment